ASPPH logo




2014 ASPPH Sections’ Retreat

This week, the 2014 ASPPH Sections’ Retreat was held in Minneapolis, MN. The retreat included four tracks: academic affairs, finance and administration, public health practice, and research. Each group participated in a plenary session as well as topic sessions specific to each track.

Sections' Retreat

The meeting started on Wednesday, June 18 with an opening plenary session. The session featured a welcome address from Dean John Finnegan (Minnesota) followed by a presentation and discussion on Framing the Future by Dean Donna Petersen (South Florida).

On Thursday and Friday, the attendees in each track covered a wide range of topics – for full agendas for each track please visit the retreat event page. There were one hundred forty three attendees at this year’s retreat representing 67 ASPPH-member CEPH-accredited schools and programs and two associate-member schools. The planning committee for the retreat was made up of representatives from each track, Dr. Michael Bisesi (Ohio State), Dr. Carolyn Golab (Thomas Jefferson) and Dr. Robert Pack (East Tennessee) for academic affairs; Ms. Renae Brinza (Pittsburgh), Ms. Marcia Thomas (NYU), and Mr. John Zamora (Texas A&M) for finance and administration; Dr. Dan Boatright (Oklahoma), Dr. Bernadette Boden-Albala (NYU), and Ms. Jennifer Kolker (Drexel) for public health practice; and Dr. Pam Factor-Litvak (Columbia) and Dr. Ricardo Wray (Saint Louis) for research. Many thanks to the planning committee and discussion leaders for their efforts in making this year’s retreat a great success.

Section members who are interested in serving on next year’s planning committee or have suggestions for topics of discussion should contact Ms. Jessica Petrush at or (202) 296-1099 x136.