ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

BU Professor Wins AHRQ Mentorship Award

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has named Boston University School of Public Health (BUSPH) Professor James Burgess the 2015 winner of the John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award.

The AHRQ, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, presents the annual award to an outstanding faculty member in an AHRQ-supported National Research and Service Award (NRSA) institutional training program.

Dr. Burgess, a professor of health policy and management who directs the Health Economics Program at BUSPH, was presented with the award at the 2015 NRSA Trainees Research Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota, on June 13.

Dr. Burgess is a health economist with more than 25 years of extensive health care management, research, and educational experience putting health services research into practice in diverse transdisciplinary settings. He is a founding co-editor of the electronic Health Economics Letters, the first fully electronic peer-reviewed journal in health economics, and as an associate editor of its parent journal, Health Economics.

To read more about the award, go to: