ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Kentucky: Dr. Terry Bunn Named Chair of NIOSH Board of Scientific Counselors

Dr. Terry Bunn of the University of Kentucky College of Public Health is now chair of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC). She is an associate professor of preventive medicine and environmental health in the College of Public Health. She also serves as director of the Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center, a bona fide agent of the Kentucky Department for Public Health.

The NIOSH BSC is a federal advisory committee assembled to provide independent advice and guidance to the Director of NIOSH. The primary activity of the committee is to provide advice on NIOSH’s occupational safety and health research and prevention programs. The BSC also provides advice on standards of scientific excellence, current needs in the field of occupational safety and health, and the applicability and dissemination of research findings.

The NIOSH BSC is made up of 15 experts in occupational safety and health, such as occupational medicine, occupational nursing, industrial hygiene, occupational safety and health engineering, toxicology, chemistry, safety and health education, ergonomics, epidemiology, biostatistics, and psychology. Among the members, four may be representatives of industry or labor who are knowledgeable in occupational safety and health research. Members serve for overlapping terms up to 4 years.