ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Saint Louis Faculty Earn AIHA Honors

Saint Louis faculty were recognized for excellence at this week’s American Industrial Hygiene Association’s annual conference and exhibition with the Lila Albin best paper award and one fellow award.


Inactivation of Dust Mites, Dust Mite Allergen, and Mold from Carpet” is this year’s winner of the AIHA Indoor Environmental Quality Committee’s Lila Albin Award for the best paper of 2014.

The indoor environmental quality paper, by first author Dr. Kee-Hean Ong, of SLU’s College for Public Health and Social Justice, was published in the Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene.

Dr. Ong co-authored the paper with five SLU colleagues: Dr. Roger D. Lewis, Dr. Anupma Dixit, Ms. Maureen MacDonald, of the department of environmental and occupational health; Dr. Mingan Yang, of the department of biostatistics; and Dr. Zhengmin Qian, of the department of epidemiology.

“We found you paper to be readily applicable, well researched and clearly written. It is a useful addition to the IEQ literature,” the selection committee wrote in the award notification. The award was given at the annual meeting of the AIHA Indoor Environmental Quality Committee, as part of the AIHce conference, on June 2.

Dr. Lewis, director of SLU’s Environmental Health Research Laboratory, where the paper’s research was completed, was also selected for special recognition as one of this year’s AIHA Fellows.

The fellow award is given to only 5 percent of the AIHA membership; Dr. Lewis was nominated by the St. Louis section of AIHA. Dr. Lewis, along with 11 other fellows, was honored at the inaugural Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast, June 3, in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the American Industrial Hygiene Conference and Exhibition (AIHce).