ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Texas A&M’s First Hagler Faculty Fellow

Dr. William Sage, is the Texas A&M School of Public Health first faculty fellow from the Hagler Institute for Advanced Study. The Hagler Institute selects faculty fellows from among top scholars who have distinguished themselves through outstanding professional accomplishments or significant recognition.

Dr. Sage is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences, and the Academy of Medicine, Engineering, and Science of Texas. He holds the James R. Dougherty Chair for Faculty Excellence at the University of Texas at Austin School of Law and is a professor of surgery and perioperative care at Dell Medical School.

“Over the past few months, I have developed some great working relationships with the school’s outstanding faculty and graduate students,” Dr. Sage said. “My principal research assistant, doctoral student Mr. Yuxian Du, is working with me and my long-time collaborators at Northwestern and Georgetown to better understand how tort reform might affect nursing home quality and access.”

Since his appointment, Dr. Sage has lectured on health care reform, contributed to faculty research grant proposals, advised doctoral candidates and peer-reviewed manuscripts in advance of formal submission.

[Dr. William Sage]