ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

UNC Professor Receives ASN’s Excellence in Nutrition Education Award

Dr. Elizabeth Mayer-Davis was honored recently with the American Society for Nutrition’s 2017 Excellence in Nutrition Education Award. Dr. Mayer-Davis is Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor of nutrition and medicine and chair of the Department of Nutrition at the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.

[Photo: Photo: Dr. Beth Mayer-Davis]

The focus of Dr. Mayer-Davis’ career has been on diabetes, including the epidemiology and natural history of Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes in children and adults. Her research has addressed ways in which nutrition can have an impact upon the risk for developing diabetes – and upon the risk for complications from diabetes.

She is principal investigator for the Carolina site of the SEARCH for Diabetes in Youth study and severs as national co-chair for this large, multi-center study.

She also is active in the American Diabetes Association and was the association’s 2011 president for health care and education.

“Beth Mayer-Davis is that rare individual who is both an outstanding researcher and a visionary, accomplished educator,” said Dr. Barbara K. Rimer, dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor at the Gillings School. “In her role as nutrition professor and chair, she has brought a visionary lens to education – from the bachelor’s to postdoctoral levels, from public health to medicine and from individuals to populations and patients. In a world that has moved beyond interdisciplinary boundaries to convergence, Dr. Mayer-Davis has been a leader in examining and reinventing the way we think about nutrition education to assure that the field is relevant, vibrant and ready for the next decades.”

Dr. Mayer-Davis accepted the award on April 23 during the ASN’s Scientific Sessions at Experimental Biology 2017, in Chicago.

Read more: