ASPPH logo


Student & Alumni Achievements

Student & Alumni Achievements

UTexas Student Named 2014 Pisacano Leadership Scholar

Ms. Alyssa Shell, an MD-PhD student at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) has been named as one of seven 2014 Pisacano Scholars. Ms. Shell has completed her PhD work in Population Health Sciences and is in her final year of medical school. The scholarships, valued up to $28,000 each, are awarded to students attending U.S. medical schools who demonstrate a strong commitment to the specialty of Family Medicine. In addition, each applicant must show demonstrable leadership skills, superior academic achievement, strong communication skills, identifiable character and integrity, and a noteworthy level of community service. The program provides educational programs, leadership training, and funding for outstanding fourth year medical students who have been identified as the future leaders in the field of Family Medicine. The Pisacano Leadership Foundation, Inc. was created in 1990 by the American Board of Family Medicine in tribute to the founder and first Executive Director of the ABFM, Dr. Nicholas J. Pisacano, (1924-1990). The Population Health Sciences program is a CEPH accredited PhD program in the UTMB Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health.