ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Washington Department Chair Wins 2017 Rachel Carson Award for Environmental Advocacy

Dr. Michael Yost, chair of the department of environmental and occupational health sciences at the University of Washington School of Public Health, won the American Industrial Hygiene Association’s (AIHA) 2017 Rachel Carson Award, the organization’s highest honor.

[Photo: Dr. Michael Yost]

Dr. Yost received the award at the Mark of Excellence Awards Breakfast on June 6, held during the AIHA Conference and Exposition in Seattle. His research focuses on developing novel real-time and optical instruments for ambient air quality exposure assessment and for use in workplace health and safety.

In addition, as a professor in the department, Dr. Yost teaches classes on environmental and occupational exposure sciences, exposure assessment for air pollution, chemical and physical agents, and chemical sampling methods.

The AIHA Environmental Issues Committee presents the Rachel Carson Award every year to an environmental health and safety professional who has attained outstanding success and distinction in their business, profession or life’s work.

To learn more about Dr. Yost, visit