ASPPH logo


Faculty & Staff Honors

Faculty & Staff Honors

Yale Professor Receives Excellence in Education Award

Dr. Susan T. Mayne, the C.E.A. Winslow Professor of Epidemiology at the Yale School of Public Health was awarded the Excellence in Education Award by the Society for Epidemiologic Research at their annual meeting in June.

Dr. Mayne is chair of the department of chronic disease epidemiology and associate director of the Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center, responsible for population sciences.

Her research emphasizes lifestyle determinants of human cancer risk, including diet, obesity, tobacco, alcohol, and indoor tanning. She has authored or co-authored over 200 articles/book chapters. She has served on several editorial boards including the Journal of Nutrition; Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers and Prevention; Cancer Prevention Research; Annual Review of Nutrition; and Nature Reviews Clinical Oncology. In addition to her research, she does extensive service including serving on several National Academy of Sciences committees, serving two terms on the U.S. Food and Nutrition Board, and serving a 5-year term on the Board of Scientific Counselors for the U.S. National Cancer Institute.